A Vow of Stability

Dear Friends,
Today marks one year of photographing my sheep. Last May my husband Peter and our friend Patricia, fellow blipper, took a trip to Ireland. We spent a week in the Burren. One day we hiked into a magical place to find a cave where a monk had spent 7 years. There was a beautiful spring and an old chapel, quite tiny, built in his memory, and now being reclaimed by the lush green. As we talked about the power of simplicity Patricia mentioned that one of the vows taken is one of stability. Peter and I were both very struck by that thought, and later when discussing it we both realized that our little farm was just that, our vow of stability. For me, the sheep held a particularly powerful place in that. After coming home the thought stayed with me and I felt, as a former artist, I needed to do something with it, it felt important. And so every day for the past 365 I have looked and loved and tried to see. I feel changed, deepened and much quieted.
Thank you so much for sharing this with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.