Postbox Pat

Sometimes when I walk the same route repeatedly, I like to pat a landmark as a kind of gesture of familiarity. I do, and I wonder if other people do this. It's like touching a branch of a tree that you walk under every day. Or running fingers along the same fence every day.

I know this sounds odd, but in the House of Commons, Winston Churchill's bronze statue is just to the left of the doors into the chamber itself. Winston's foot is shinier than any other part of him as MP's daily touch his foot as they enter.

This postbox is at the end of the road where the hospital is - the one that B has been staying in. I have walked past it enough times in the last week and a bit. But no more.

B is home. He's much better. He needs heavy pain killers and he's slow and careful as he moves, but he's home.

No more postbox pat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.