Cailleach

By Cailleach

Love, juice, and one (tv) set each....

I've always loved the Wimbledon men's final....

When I was young, my brother would set up a portable tv in the garden, my mum would supply strawberries, cream and freshly squeezed orange juice, we'd shout advice from our deckchairs, and eventually my dad would open a window on the top floor and declare that just because we thought we were miniature Dan Maskells, the neighbours might not necessarily appreciate the volume of our commentary.

At some point, we'd get the swingball out of the basement - I'd be Chris Evert, my brother would be Bjorn Borg, and much hilarity and/or arguing would ensue.

Our parents are long gone now, but today, my brother and I will do what we always do.....watch the tennis together. He'll be viewing it on his iPad in Spain, and I'll be watching on my friend's giant tv here in Edinburgh.....but via the magic of FB, we'll be united in giving Roger advice, and remembering a time when the days seemed long and sunny, and there wasn't a worry in the world that our dad couldn't fix, or our mum chase away....

Enjoy your Sunday. I know I will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.