mambo

By mambo

Second helping of onions!

After my blip yesterday showing my onions growing impromptu in my allotment I did say I would show you them again today as cut flowers.

These are white onion and leek heads that I have cut off the vegetable. There was enough for two vases and still more to cut.

I've been thinking, (lightbulb moment!) if an onion set costs around £1:50 for 25, 30 or sometimes 50 corms, then to grow them as cut flowers is a pretty good return! It doesn't harm the onions to let them get to this stage but the leeks get a bit tough

Next year I'm going to grow all of the onion family in my allotment as veg but in addition plant some in my garden for cut flowers.

I'm multitasking at the moment: drinking lemonade, watching tennis, and browsing on here between games while lounging on the sofa.

Enjoy your Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.