cherish what remains

By clothgirl

new yorker

It all started with a car.

Last year when Stewart Bremner made his first visit to Arkansas he made a series of extraordinary blips of American cars. I remember he said the first few just showed up in his path. But after awhile he had to go looking and the hunt became something of a challenge. Etherghost got so good at spotting possibilities, behind gas stations, at the back of parking lots, that she became known as "eagle eye Chapman".

One day I got to drive them around on the daily reconnaissance mission. It was great fun and we (and by we I mean Megan) found this beauty. I urge you to look at the whole series which starts here.

Me, I never paid much attention to cars until that point, but since then I notice them more and always think of Stewart. And it wasn't too long after that day that I became a blipper myself, of course, etherghost had a lot to do with that.

We were together today when we saw this gorgeous thing. The typeface alone is enough to make my graphic designer heart sing.

Here's to you Stewart, thanks for opening my eyes to the beauty on four wheels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.