The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

This morning we had a visit from the psychiatric occupational therapist. Last time I took mum to see the psychiatrist, I mentioned she was often quite fearful of her bedroom, so they thought the OT could help with making the room more dementia friendly.

I was very cynical, to be honest, as I had already decluttered and simplified her previous bedroom which she had also had problems with. It hadn't helped a bit, and it was at that point I realised that providing practical and logical solutions to illogical, dementia induced fears was highly unlikely to work.

The OT was lovely - the fox cubs turned up while she was here and she was entranced (oddly she didn't call for her horse and a small pack of hounds to pursue them with). She wasn't allowed to leave the house until she'd signed this petition ..

https://www.change.org/p/david-cameron-mp-allow-the-public-to-have-their-say-on-the-fox-hunting-debate-via-a-referendum-22e893aa-5f4d-4577-a08d-2d77083a6016?just_created=true

I'm not sure she had much to offer us - she thought we had a fairly good routine, and I'm glad to say mum demonstrated the fear she has of the handrail (it seems better somehow when someone else witnesses these odd behaviours).

So off she went ...

Meanwhile - the foxies came to lie on the lawn with me - and Auntie fox looked gorgeous in the sunshine against the pink geraniums. My extra photo is Mama having a joyful roll on the grass. Sweet girl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.