terracotta

By terracotta

I've been a busy bee

Been quiet cos I have been busy. At the weekend shifted 15 sacks of ballast and 15 sacks of gravel to lay a floor for the apiary.  Now done and it is much better as hives are now on a stable well draining floor so will be easy to walk on in winter.  Last night did my first inspection of the hives. One colony is doing really well and I found the queen.  The other I think is ok but didn't find any new eggs, larvae or the queen but she may just have been hiding.   The picture is off the scrapings i made where comb had been laid and shouldn't of, between the top of the frames and the queen excluder.  I need to get better excluder to stop this :-)  Much happier that the inspection went without incident.  Work is still going fab.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.