Aquila Nylgut

I have purchased a new set of "good-quality" ukulele strings from Amazon a few days ago and it has arrived today. I immediately restrung my uke as soon as i got home from uni. The photo here is the successful restringing of two strings (strings G and C, white ones).

I am pretty sure there has been an improvement in terms of the sound quality with the new strings compared to the old one but honestly, I could not tell the difference. There could be two reasons: (1) It could be that the original strings were really really good, (2) or that I dont have the right ear to hear the difference between a good and a crappy sound. I do hope it is the former. 

I finished restringing all four strings quite fast but i spent the whole night retuning it as the new strings are known to settle down longer. It may take days  or a week of constant retuning according to some videos I have watched. But for now I am glad that I didnt have to spend extra quids to have someone restring my uke for me (a music store in town would charge me 5GBP for just restringing it).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.