The Palace

Over the last two or three years, I've had two major rants about big cinema chains on my blogs (one on here about Vue and one on Wordpress obout Odeon). In both cases, my underlying gripe is that while these organisations pretend to be fanatical about film, really they just rip off the genuine enthusiasts.

For the couple of years that I lived in Edinburgh, I don't think I visited a cinema chain once, spreading my love across the Dominion, Cameo and Filmhouse (sometimes all in the same week!).

In my part of the world, the there are two independents: the Dukes in Lancaster, which is great, but a bit limited on choice, and the Brewery in Kendal, which, although my company sponsors it, always irritates me with the costs - and lack of local fare - at the concessions stand.

Last year, the Minx discovered the Palace in Longridge, which we fell in love with straight away. Reasonably priced, charming concessions set up - you can get a mug of tea! - and a lovely old auditorium.

I took Dan here, this evening, to watch 'Jurassic World', which, despite the reviews by the haterz, was perfectly good for what it was. My ticket was £5 and Dan's was £4, and the popcorn was very reasonably priced. I think Dan was a little bemused at first, especially when everyone stood for the national anthem, but I got the impression he liked it, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.