Spotting frenzy

I tried to outwit the trains (some were delayed by signalling problems) in order to get back to Embra before I started.....no, that can't be right. Anyway, it didn't work, and I missed the Trans-Pennine Rattler by at least four minutes, so had to spend a while at Carlisle station. I was thinking about my little dad who had had to spend time there between trains on his way to boarding school almost 100 years ago when there was a sudden agitation amongst the train spotters. A heavy engine of some sort (sorry chaps, I didn't take down the number) was hauling another engine (she was definitely called Mary, Queen of Scots) and then an unremarkable carriage entitled Direct Rail Services past platform 1 very slowly indeed ; and I saw at least one man running after it actually carrying a tripod

It was good to get home and even better to see DaveH, who eventually materialised from Lancashire. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.