A Phool in Nepal

By PhoolR

DeadMac Pro

Very sad. Unrecoverable. I've spent the whole day since last evening when it actually crashed trying to recover data. The booting, safe booting and booting in recovery mode ("this disk is unrecoverable") were all failures. I finally linked it in Target Disk Mode to my iMac and after 20 minutes the hard disk mounted, although it wasn't writable, it did appear as though I could make a back up. I started to copy it through Disk Utility, but after 3 hours (of an estimated 8) it failed. I don't know why, so I started it again. I've left it working away. Tomorrow I'll either be performing a clean install and then restoring the backup, or a clean install and starting from scratch. I don't even want to think about none of those options working and having to get a new machine.

If problems were money I'd have no problems... Maybe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.