A new 'lifer'

A 'Lifer' is the term given to a species you have never seen before, and is often used in terms of trapped moths. 
This beauty  the Scarce silver lines Bena bicolorana (another green moth) is a lifer for me, in all the years I have run a moth trap on and off I have never ever caught one before! so as you can guess I was well pleased.
The Scarce silver lines is a local species which inhabits woodland and parkland. Flying in one generation between June and August it is a regular visitor to light.
It was lovely to open my trap and find this moth especially as I have been feeling a bit under the weather the last couple of days. I was bitten on the eye on Saturday resulting in rather  a swollen face, as result I was forced to take some antihistamine, which has made me really dopey .....I am really glad we only have today and tomorrow before holiday! yay!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.