Lovely letter I got from Lis Sladen in 2002

Found this recently while tidying my office at home...

Way back in 2002 I was lucky enough to write a Sarah Jane Smith audio drama for Big Finish Productions, with Lis Sladen recreating her iconic role as the Doctor Who companion. Lis sent all the writers on that series a tape with her thoughts on how the character would have evolved since leaving the TARDIS in the 1970s.

I traveled down to London for the recording of my story, which was called Test of Nerve [a brilliant title suggested by producer/director Gary Russell, IIRC]. It was a joy to be in the studio, and afterward I wrote to thank Liz and her daughter Sadie, who also appeared in the series. Lis wrote back - and this is the second half of her letter, dated 29 April 2002. It reads as follows:

"Some of your scenes, I knew I would have to make a decision on how to play them on the day, when you work with the others in the scene - but I was never worried (only scared) because from the beginning I loved the story lien and it had the most incredible pace which is such a help. Thank your for all your hard work in a short time - and that you're pleased with the finished result.

"Finally - thank you for travelling all that way, that was so lovely of you.

"Hope our paths cross again, regards, Lis Sladen."

Happily, our paths did cross again. I got to write all four stories in the second series of Sarah Jane Smith audio dramas, produced by Big Finish in 2006. By that time the character was being reintroduced in the new TV series of Doctor Who with Toby Whithouse's wonderful episode School Reunion. Lis made several more appearances on the show, and then starred in the cracking CBBC series, The Sarah Jane Adventures, which made her beloved by a whole new generation of viewers.

It was a great sadness when she died in 2011, but I'm so proud of the stories I wrote for her and treasure the experience of working with her. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.