briker

By backwoodsman

New beginnings..

The last few days have been something of a trial....a close friend losing his 20 year fight with mental illness  ; so today went for a long walk with two dogs in meadows near Bothwell.
And was astounded at the number of orchids that were everywhere in the grass.
And in the middle of the field this little oak springing up.....probably an acorn dropped by a careless crow :-)
And beside it this lovely little orchid.
Which reminded me of a poem (Violet and Oak by W.H.Davies )that has long since been a favourite of mine.
And somehow the outlook got brighter :-)

Down through the trees is my green walk;
It is so narrow there and dark
That all the end,thats seen afar,
Is a dot of daylight, like a star.
When I had walked halfway or more,
I saw a pretty, small ,blue flower;
And,looking closer I espied
A small green stranger at her side.
If that flowers sweetheart lives to die
A natural death,thought I.......
What will have happened by then
To a world of ever restless men?
"My little newborn oak" I said
"If my soul lives when I am dead,
I'll have an hour or more with you
Five hundred years from now!
When your straight back's so strong that though
Your leaves were lead on every bough,
It would not break.....I'll think of you
When ,weak and small, your sweetheart was
A little violet in the grass "

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.