Views of Obernai

We arrived in Valff, France to stay with my cousin and his family yesterday evening. I have to admit that I was a little apprehensive as before my Grandma's funeral in January I hadn't seen my cousin for approximately 14 years. Even when we were growing up we lived in different parts of the UK so we didn't know each other very well. However as we only live about five hours apart now we thought it was about time that our own families should meet up! 
I needn't have been worried as they turned out to be the most perfect hosts and we all got on so well. It was the first time they had met my husband and children. The food that they prepared for us and all of the meals were fantastic, the sleeping arrangements for us all and their enthusiasm to show us the region where they live and look after us were brilliant. Their two girls aged 11 and 14 were very patient with my two and this morning we all went to Obernai to have a look around as it's a lovely town. Then it was back to their house for lunch before my cousin's wife took their two girls to their horse riding lessons and arranged for Olivia to go with them so that she could help with the horses and have a ride herself. Despite knowing them for less than 20 hours Olivia had no problem going off on her own with them!
My cousin then took myself, hubby and Dex into Strasbourg so that we could visit the race expo and pick up our numbers for our tomorrow. He then give us a guided tour of Strasbourg and even though it was my third visit to Strasbourg I still loved it and my cousin told us some great stories about the city.

When we got back to the house Olivia was super excited to tell us about her time at the stables. I think everyone is quite shocked by how much this little girl can converse. I wish I could bottle up her energy and enthusiasm and sell it as I'd be a very rich lady!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.