A New Corvette

Way back in the late summer of 1977 (38 years ago), Lisa had an uncle that worked for GMI (General Motors Institute). He was a professor.

Back then, to keep the teachers happy, they could pick out a car, get 33% off on it, put it into the "fleet", drive it for 3,000 miles, and then it was theirs.

Sooooo...we hatched a plan with Uncle Bob to get a new Corvette. I was 24, and Lisa was 23. We were going to get one in burnt orange with a tan leather interior. I was REAL excited. At the time the car went for 10 thousand dollars, and we were going to get it for $6,600. WOO-HOO!!

But, (isn't there always a but?) right before we ordered, another one of the profs sold a Corvette BEFORE putting on the 3,000 miles, so the powers that be declared..."NO MORE CORVETTES IN THE FLEET!!!"

My chance to have my sports car was gone, then our children were on the way, and at this point in my life...I don't want one. We did end up getting a very nice red Chevrolet Monte Carlo that turned out to be a good car.

But still...every once in a while...when I see a Corvette...I wonder what might have been.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.