birds, rainstorms or snow

By spinsterstale

blue planet

Almost two weeks ago I was coming home from visiting a relative. The weather had changed colder during the day and it was about to rain, so I decided not to walk but take the tram that was to arrive in couple of minutes. Except that it never came. There was also a hipster guy, two foreign looking men and an older man with a rollator at the stop. When the next tram finally arrived I was freezing. In the tram I noticed the rollator man was still outside the doors so I returned to ask if he needed help. I sure do, he said, I've been waiting here for forty minutes for a low-floor tram so I could get in.

Unbelievable.

So, I helped him with the wheels and sat in front of him. He spoke with the local dialect, asked me for my origins and profession and told me he had once been an apprentice in a book printing company and that he was the last male in his family, so his family name would die with him. When his stop came, I helped him to get out and he told me to give regards to my home town.

The next morning I woke up with an emerging bronchitis, and as I refused to take it seriously I have been sick all June. It would be really nice to be able to go running and yoga already. If I had worn warmer clothes that day and walked instead of waiting for the tram, I might be well now, but the rollator man would have needed to wait for at least another ten minutes. Or maybe the hipster guy would have helped him, and they would have had a nice chat about hats, or something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.