Backblipped for 8th June

Compare with this blip

On the first day of the Shetland trip my boots started shedding their tread - delaminating is the correct term; over the week the tread all but disappeared. They still gave some grip and seemed waterproof. They are a foreign make and, as Tiso say they cannot be repaired, I have had to replace them. I'll probably still use them for local walks.

My anorak lining tore from the hem and the pocket linings were frayed through. In the resulting gaps I could see that the waterproofing was peeling away from the fabric - delaminating in other words - so a replacement was sought and found today. At least I can use it as a windproof if the weather's cold and dry.

I managed to lose my small binoculars; they had annoying habits so were replaced with a bettter pair.

The cheap rucksack I was using is fraying over the shoulder straps so, in the course of shopping for the other items, we came across a good deal in the sales. I'll probably continue to use the old one for carrying stones etc..

My suitcase seems to have survived - probably because it was safely stowed at the hostel all day.

Did this spoil the Shetland trip? Not a bit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.