(British-Built) Lighthouse, Galle

We did get to go Galle, although it was a sour day.  We were still all right with the fact that we got to see it, but by this time we had just about had it with the guide, who I realized was busier with his own agenda than our programme.  The weather reflected my dour mood even as I appreciated the couple of sights we got to see there in-between the downpours, and I realize that, as an amateur 'witch', I was becoming a negative influence on the barometer -- gale force winds, high rough waves, plunging temps.  Maybe my choice for today's blip reflects how much I needed something to hang on to.  What did we see in Galle?  -- The Dutch church with a number of interesting crypts, a part of the bastion, the offices of the former Dutch colonial government built in 1684 and now a swanky hotel, and this lighthouse.

By the time we got to Colombo, my temper measured about 40 degrees.  For the upteenth time, our guide was caught unprepared with regards to locating our hotel while still trying to push all the extra trips he wanted to earn extra cash with.  When we finally arrived, the Ellaphant waxed critically "ellaquent".  ALL the men kept a safe distance as I flung my luggage on the ground and gave my two hundred eurocents' worth.  As for my pain ... what pain?  It came back much later after I had calmed down.  Hubby gave me a hug later on and patted me on the head ... hahahaha!  He was not surprised at all.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.