LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Black & White Stripes

Jen was a very naughty girl this evening. She told me at about 5pm that she was very tired and wanted a only a bottle of wine and sleep when she got in (she has been working very long hours the past couple of weeks). I duly canceled my planned visit to the pub to watch Newcastle vs Villa in order to make some tea and provide sympathy (whilst listening to the game on the radio). It was likely Villa would beat s anyway so I thought nothing of it.

At 8pm, just as the game kicked off, I received a phone call asking if I could get the bus into Edinburgh (an hour or so) and pick her up in her car as she was out with friends from work and it would save her having to get a taxi home and another to work in the morning. No mention of the fact that I would miss all the game, not be able to have a drink, and generally not be happy. Stern words were had and I ended up not trekking all the way to town and as it turned out we won 2-0 and I really could have done with being in The Cask & Barrel to see it.

Bah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.