Bramblewood Golf Club

On this old course,
I used to drive and chip.
Now, it's just used...
to get my daily blip.

I never knew where my ball was going,
would it be a hook or a fade?
But now, the course is only good...
for the cranes to find some shade.

On this hole, I put a drive in the road,
I'll blame my bad duck-hook.
But now, it looks way overgrown,
good only for the photos I took.

People used to joke it was a barnyard stroll,
a long and hilly loop.
The cranes...they must not know the rules...
YOU CAN ONLY HAVE FOUR IN A GROUP!!!

The course...it doesn't show its past...
where's the flag?...where's the green?
Now, it's a refuge for the birds,
a place to relax...a place to preen.

The goal was to get around the track,
and finish under par.
But the cranes, they don't stick around...
they say goodbye, so long, au revoir.

The course is now covered with corn,
and the clubhouse was torn down.
I hope the cranes will stick around...
'til the green fields turn to brown.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/124969130@N06/sets/72157656436810395 A few more shots are on my Flickr page. This group of cranes was on the old golf course, and I got another crane couple in the national cemetery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.