M9

By M9

KATYDID IT RIGHT

Finally!  I was able to get a clear subject along with a muted Depth of Field.  I’ve been dying to get this down ever since I started blipping a couple years ago.  After only using a macro lens or zoom lens – on automatic, this week I started using the wide-angle lens on manual!  Lots of trial and error.  But after all, ‘automatic’ is still basically a ‘point & shoot’ camera, so I was never going to get it to do the extra ‘tricks’ that I so admire in so many of my fellow blippers’ shots.

This oblong-winged Katydid is on a coneflower right up against the house, so a great DoF isn’t obvious anyway, but I love the eye and ‘nose’!  In Extras, I have a pollen-laden honeybee on another coneflower.  The bee is crisp & clear, and the DoF is just what I hoped for.  Yippee!!

My daughter has been giving me instruction on settings for the camera depending on the variables.  I really appreciate her patience as she has had to explain several times how to gauge the inter-relationship of the shutter speed, IOS and aperture (as well as exposure compensation).  I have to admit these are only two shots - out of well over a hundred - that came close to being blip-worthy.  It’s a start though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.