Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Diet ahead

It's a good job the airlines don't weigh you before your flight out on holiday and then again before you fly back and charge additional amounts for each extra pound, as it would cost me a fortune (and whatever you do, don't let anyone from Ryanair see this; they'll introduce the idea in no time). The food in Greece can be healthy; plenty of salads and vegetables, but it is also very tasty and I love to try everything at least once. There's tsatziki and courgette fritters, Greek salad and gyros, kleftiko and kalamari. There are spinach pies, saganaki and souvlaki. Cheese pies and chicken with prunes. Lamb with lemon potatoes. Horta. And did I mention the pastitsio and moussaka? And of course, different tavernas cook them just that bit differently, so it's good to try them in different places.

I left the camera in the room when we went out for the day but I had to nip down to the local shop first thing for some milk and fruit juice, so took a few shots on the way including this one. A final toasting on the beach and now it's the packing before we head off to the taverna we started in, Zoe's, for the last meal. They do a very good 'Symi Lamb-Goat' there; not sure I've ever seen a lamb-goat but perhaps that is because Zoe cooks them all.

Back home tomorrow; I'll blip something but it will be a back-blip on Thursday. Now, where's that weather forecast for the Home Counties?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.