Sunset from Cabane du Mont Fort

***I originally posted a silhouette of the Cabane under glowering skies, which I will add as an extra (when I have pc access) for posterity.
But closing the blinds to go to sleep the view from my window took my breath away, and as there were no comments yet I decided to change the pic***

It's not the most exciting day of the Haute Route today, but we do go up to 2457m to start the high days from the Cabane - and even on the best of days that can take a toll on the clients - especially if they're all from sea level in Alaska.
Unfortunately today was not the best of days, much much colder and with rain pretty much guaranteed by mid afternoon - so I needed to force a pace and get us there.
Arriving in waterproofs but not yet soaked, to a dark and threatening sky, they were tired and elated, and sipping a cold beer by the warm stove I was pleased the plan paid off.

The guardian was on his own tonight due to sickness - so I did the right thing for a guide & offered to help - had a blast practising my waitering skills, French and aperitif drinking. Fantastic mountain camaraderie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.