Rainy Day in Oregon

By jerispics

Pileated Woodpecker

Gracie and I walked out of the front door of my house this afternoon and heard a 'knock, knock, knock' in the trees out front. There is an old snag amongst the hemlocks and firs and I figured a woodpecker was working on it.
We walked quietly toward the sound, I told Gracie not to talk so we wouldn't scare it away. She said, 'but Gramma I have to talk'. I whispered, 'okay', but whisper. She did. It was funny. So we got to the trees and looked between the maple leaves and saw this big guy. Not the best bird pic I ever took. I didn't have my big lens with me and of course the leaves were in the way. I didn't want to scare him off so didn't try to get any closer.
He was digging away at some goodies inside the dead tree. I was so pleased to see one of these guys here. I haven't seen one at my place for a few years now. They are huge birds, and of course I can't find my bird book to give an accurate description of his size. Hoping to see him again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.