Tuppence a bag

At lunchtime I went down to the river beside Caversham Bridge, thinking I might get a shot of a swan or a goose flapping its wings vigorously or something like that. But before I even got to the riverside I saw this lady, sitting on a bench with a bag of crusts she'd brought, feeding the pigeons. (And the swans got their turn later too).

The birds were obviously totally at ease with her, and it was a joy to watch her with them. She let then settle on her, fed them by hand, talked to them, and scolded them when they started bickering with each other over the crusts.

I took quite a few shots. In some I caught birds in the air, wings dramatically outstretched, as they came in to land beside (or on) her,.. But I chose this one because I think it gives a good impression of the serenity of the scene, and the connection between her and the bird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.