Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Broken Foot

I was looking forward to putting my feet up this weekend, but not like this. I tripped on the kerb on the way to work this morning and twisted my foot. Took a taxi into school and then straight out again and to hospital as by then I could hardly put any weight on it and it was swelling up. Bb at the same time was flying to Brazil! I knew I couldn't manage on my own from the hospital when I was left in reception in a wheelchair with plaster up to the knee and strict instructions not to put any weight on the foot, no crutches and no way of even getting into a taxi! I called two friends for help. Caroline picked me up at the hospital and got the necessary medication at the chemist. Mila met us back home and together they did the necessary to get me set up on the ground floor of the house, with an air bed borrowed from Caroline in the front room, moving anything likely to get in my way and bringing things together and downstairs that I'm likely to need. How difficult it is to walk with crutches! I realized quickly that you can't carry anything, need to take very baby steps and not rush anything. They made lunch and made sure I could get in and out of the bed and get to the bathroom. I was exhausted by this stage as it all takes such an effort! Another friend (who's my co-tutor this month) came round at night and did a few more tasks. She has a cat and lives out of town, otherwise she'd have stayed over. She'll come back tomorrow night and do that if necessary. She had the good idea of buying one of these little vegetable racks on wheels so that I can put essential bits and bobs in that and, slowly, little by little, push that with me if I want a change of seat. I've got a bag round my neck so that I can carry my mobiles with me when I move. Despite the bad timing of the fall with BB gone, we still had a few laughs and I'm incredibly grateful for their friendship and help. I go back to hospital at the beginning of next week and will take it from there.

My boss has had to get in another trainer in the meantime till I think I can go back. I'll do some prep work from home this weekend to help the new trainer on Monday. At least the temperature has dropped and there's a thunder and lightening storm as I type. One step at a time ;-)

Bb's now landed in Rio and we've had a Skype chat. He's suffering being so far away too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.