Brass plaque on a dreary thoroughfare.

“And when I remembered all that I hoped and feared as I pickled about Rutherford’s in the rain and the east wind: how I feared I should make a mere shipwreck, and yet timidly hoped not; how I feared I should never have a friend far less a wife, and yet passionately hoped I might; how I hoped (if I did not take to drink) I should possibly write one little book. And then now – what a change! I feel somehow as if I should like the incident set upon a brass plate at the corner of that dreary thoroughfare, for all students to read, poor devils, when their hearts are down.”
 

Written by Robert Louis Stevenson at 7am on  6 September 1888 (with a dreadful pen) on the yacht Casco, at sea, near the Paumotus -  and now on a brass plaque at the corner of the dreary thoroughfare of Drummond Street in Edinburgh. 

Which I like. 

Robert Louis Stevenson is one of the reasons I wanted to live in Edinburgh in the first place. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.