Remember Well

It is almost the end of what would have been my first husband's birthday. July also marked the 25th anniversary of the signing of the American's with Disabilities Act. David was there, on the lawn of the White House, for the signing of this landmark legislation, after working long and hard with the Champaign-Urbana Coalition of Citizens with Disabilities. David didn't see himself as having a disability. He constantly looked for interesting people to talk to, challenging things to do and ways to lend a hand. He felt angry when people looked at him and saw a wheelchair, or grabbed his chair like a piece of luggage and pushed him around without having asked if he wanted a hand (airport employees were notorious for this).

David never wanted to have gray hair, so I guess that his untimely death at age 37 gave him the dignity to go out with only a couple of them, even though losing him at such a young age gave me a few of my own gray hairs.

His mom, dad and sister are heroes in my life. They expected great things from David, and always join me in remembering him, and all his creative ways to approach life, well. I love them so very much, and I know they miss him like I do, and maybe more, 'cuz they got to watch him grow up.

To all our friends and family who stood with us as we battled that crazy cancer, thank you. I could never have made it without you. God blessed me with each and every one of you.

In honor of David's birthday and the 25th anniversary of the ADA, I'd like to remind every one to believe in the people in your life. Help them become all they can be, when necessary, fight for their freedom right along side of them. We never know when we will be the ones facing a barrier that seems impossible to break through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.