No one is looking at this

By Limey

The old Mercer Street Hospital

I went to my photography class tonight and we covered mainly technical things like RAW vs JPEG, file management, gradients in Photoshop to make your skies look stronger or more dramatic.

By the way, I submitted my first blipfoto to my tutor for critiquing (we have to submit three pics from our field trips for homework) and he liked it :-) yaaaay!!
Before I sent the pic, I cropped out the white bit at the side, which was the corner of some trailer. He did suggest applying a black to transparent gradient to that pic to make the sky stand out more. Good to know for next time :-)

Unfortunately I am going to miss next week's class because I will be working in Copenhagen *sighs* but I'll catch up.

So anyway, after class I went back to my car in the Stephens Green carpark and realised that I had left my tripod in the boot. If you go to the rooftop level of the carpark, you can get some great views of Dublin. You can see where this is going... :-)

This pic is of the former Mercer's Hospital on Mercer St. That building you always walk by between Stephens Green Shopping centre and Break for the Border/South William Street.

Our next field trip is on Sunday - we have to meet in Glendalough at 6.30 AM!!!!! I am seriously considering staying in a local hotel that night, I cannot face the thought of getting up at crazy o'clock and leaving my flat at 5.30 on a Sunday morning to take pics. If the weather holds, it will be worth it, but there goes my Saturday night already!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.