Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Heading to a Happier Place

My 85 year old aunt passed away on Monday afternoon after spending three long weeks trying to recover from hip replacement surgery.  She fought hard in the beginning but did not have the strength to go on.  I was with her when she went and hope that even though she was no longer responsive, I was able to give her comfort as she slipped away.  Funeral arrangements have been made and she will be buried with my uncle on Saturday morning.  

I will miss our weekly calls, our bi-weekly visits, and our great friendship.  She loved animals (mostly cats), was an avid birder, loved to talk about the family history (not all good but that is normal I guess),  was a staunch republican (nobody is perfect!), and shared the same wicked sense of humor that I have.  

BTW - I am blown away at the response on Sunday's blip and am thrilled with the wonderful comments, numerous stars, and hearts too!  I thank you... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.