Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

Zooming

Yesterday Pete (builder who is doing our kitchen) said that his son regularly rides to Derby, loops round the roundabout over the A38 and back again as a ride.  It's a lot longer than I usually do, although I did recently increase from my usual 35 mile to a 43 mile, so thought I'd give it a go.  

It was great!!  A 50 mile trip that took me 2 hours 42 mins, an average speed of 18.3 mph, higher than normal, but then again, not half as hilly as my other routes.

So today is a recovery day, no riding at all.  

Fortunately, a ton of tools I ordered from Wiggle turned up so I got to work giving my bike a well-overdue service.  I've never had a proper set of bike tools, so did a bit of reading on how to use them and spent a couple of hours getting on a mission to get rid of an annoying creaking that has been getting progressively worse over the last three weeks; under load, it is so loud for half of each rotation, I was convinced it was the right crank.

After removing the pedals, cranks, bottom bracket and giving them all a good degrease/regrease before refitting I held my breath and took it out for a short test.....the creak has gone :-D  It was driving me crazy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.