Dapa, Siargao, Surigao del Norte, Mindanao

The title should give you the exact pushpin on the map, should you want to google it.  Dapa is btw pronouned as 'Dapá', accent on the second.  In Tagalog, it means 'to lie on your tummy'.  Don't know if it means the same here, as Visayan is an entirely different language.

It's a small fishing village but it also serves as the other end of the commercial lifeline between Siargao and the mainland.  Out of curiosity and to kill time, I decided we should just take a wild ride on a passing motorcycle and come here to find out 'what's going on' in this part of the island.  Nothing interesting, I thought at first ... until we saw the ferry services -- 5 departures a day -- to the mainland.  Now THAT changed our perspective enormously!  You can now guess what we'll do tomorrow ...

By the way, it appears that there are a number of tropical depressions that have hit land in many other areas in The Phil, both in Luzon in the north and in the Visayas, in the centre, resulting in the regular monsoon downpours with strong gusts of wind.  Siargao is in the south-east.  We have been spared, so far -- still sunny, 30+ degrees by day and 28 at night, with a steady refreshing sea breeze.

Today, the unbelievable happened -- hubby indicated where he wants to go next holiday!  To be exact, he wants us to go to the Channel Islands during my autumn break.  I told him I'd have to wait till we get back to see in which week that falls and what my schedule looks like.  Hubby isn't normally like this, so I do not want to put him off.  There'll be some googling to do the next few days in terms of airfares, timetables, B&Bs.  Everything can be found on the net, I'm sure, but should you have any B&B suggestions, I will really appreciate it.  Thanks in advance!

Thank you also for bearing with my lack of communication.
Thank you also for taking the time to drop by when you do and for all the stars and hearts you've given my shots.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.