Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Lace

I walked backwards on the beach at Putsborough for a while earlier, whilst the wind battered me and the dark grey clouds chucked out great quantities of water over me, soaking the backs of my jeans.

It's the beginning the Gold Coast Oceanfest here in North Devon today (Gold Coast Oceanfest) and the weather is truly appalling. I really hope it clears up - if for no other reason than our teenagers are going to be hanging out in a windy, soggy field for hours on end.

I was determined to go for a walk on the beach today - even though I knew it would be decidedly unJune-like. Firstly, because I love the sea when it's really windy and the white water gets hurled up into tunnels of spray, creating a misty lacy appearance. (Richard wasn't impressed in the slightest. He wanted to go surfing today but it was too windy and he laughs at all my unsurferly-like expressions for the sea. ) But secondly, I wanted to get out in the elements because I wanted to control an overwhelming feeling I've had to cry since I woke up.
Concentrating on standing up straight and trying to focus a camera are great ways to slap you out of a mood.

It's Dad's birthday tomorrow. He would have been 71. His birthday always falls on or near Fathers Day weekend. In the past I would have bought 5 Fathers Day cards (one from each of the children for Richard and one each for our Dads) and a birthday card for my dad. But there are no Grandpa's anymore and the children can get their own Fathers Day cards.

I took a few photos of an old camera my dad used to own today and thought about how I didn't take any interest in photography whilst he was alive. I'd like to tell him what I've done in the last 3 years - including finishing a degree and realising I'm more creative than I ever gave myself credit for. I nearly blipped that photo and a lot of self-indulgent misery but it wouldn't have been about Dad or today - it would have just been a mood blip and something told me I didn't want to do that.

Later: I didn't realise it was my 300th blip until blipfoto tweeted the link for me on Twitter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.