Very Bad Implementation

The idea was brilliant.  We rented these pretty good full suspension enduro bikes in Verbier and got our day pass for the entire area.  It really is a spectacular place with breathtaking views, birds, bees, grasshoppers, flowers, and a variety of furry beasts, including bulls, yes large black bulls with horns.

There is also a nice blend of mountain roads, single tracks, and downhill tracks for all levels.  I've been a mountain biker for more than 20 years, so I felt pretty confident attacking a blue level downhill run. It went pretty well until my front wheel got stuck between two rocks and I summersaulted over the bike and hit the ground with my bad shoulder first (the one I've ben trying to get ready for golf in recent weeks), and then the rest of my body.

With the help of Marc an Nil, I managed to get down to village center and the car, which I had to drive home (the doctor later suggested that I was an idiot).

Well, I did get Eva's two boys home all in one piece.  As for me, after 6 hours at the hospital, I've ben told that recovery will take 6-8 weeks, with my right arm immobilized.  I don't know what this will mean for photography, but it's likely to be rather limited in the coming weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.