m o s s t r o o p e r

By mosstrooper

The Old Transformers

I took a trip up to Consett this afternoon as I wanted to check out a picture framing company. On my way back I noticed these sculptures by accident. On further inspection I realised they were The Old Transformers by David Kemp. There's a sculpture trail that runs between Consett and Birtley (The Celestrial Railroad) which you can cycle along. I've managed to capture a number of these during my time on blipfoto but I still have a few more to get.

The two sculptures (The Ironmaster and The Miner) are set side by side overlooking the cycle track and facing towards Durham. The artworks reflect the coal mining and iron making heritage of the area. They are made from old transformers as the name suggests and they are huge. I'm not sure which one is which though.

These are the other sculptures I've captured.
Beamish Shorthorns by Sally Matthews
King Cole by David Kemp
Terris Novalis by Tony Cragg

The Olympic Torch relay made it to Newcastle today. It was such a shame the weather hadn't been better for it as it has absolutely lashed it down here all day :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.