2+3+1+1

By tpd

intern

A few weeks ago I received an e-mail from an undergrad looking for a summer placement; his e-mail was clear, polite and his CV was pretty good. He'd also solved can you crack it which, if you've not heard about it, was a test posed by GCHQ and I personally thought was pretty tricky. In a nutshell he was looking more promising than 70% of the CVs that I see when hiring professional, experienced developers.

After an interview we were happy to offer him an internship and even better he accepted.

The only small, tiny fly in the ointment was that we needed to get a new desk, chair, computer, etc. before today. Which, given the packed weekend, didn't happen. Cue last minute rush yesterday and this morning to get everything in place. Of course, the computer that I'd checked last week decided to give up the ghost today so a speedy replacement had to be found fast. Cue a trip to local dealer only to find he had an Oric 1 under he counter! Cue random conversation about 80's computers.

The extra desk space means I could setup the ancient iMac again. +2/3 loves it because it has a game on there called Sammy Snake. If anyone knows where I could get a copy of this for a more recent OS (it runs on Mac OS 8.6 at the moment!) I would love to know...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.