Legacy

Operation downsize continues at pace. At first it was daunting but now I'm quite enjoying it. It's therapeutic in a way. Mrs Smith has said for years now that I'm a hoarder and I'll end up surrounded by dusty boxes in my old age if I'm not careful.

I never quite agreed, partly because the storage in this house is so humongous that tons of old crap just disappears into it and partly because, well nobody wants to be seen as a mad hoarder of junk.

However, the two boxes of old work samples I uncovered today tell their own story. This is something I worked on in 1995. That's right, twenty years ago. Yes, that's gingerbread, twenty year old gingerbread.

It's for General Accident, who used to be huge but don't exist anymore. I worked on it with Wee Al and Paul and it was a bloody nightmare of a concept to bring to life and maybe that's why I've never chucked it before? Anyhow, it's gone now and I realised that the best part of that work had been the night at The Grosvenor House when we turned up in our finery to be given a top award for it by a very well lubricated Bob Monkhouse - and I still have the memories of that which are precious. Even more precious are the photos from the night but they aren't for the squeamish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.