The life & times of Jacks

By Jacqueline

Unexpected Wake up

Last night Steve went out to meet some friends in town and around 1130pm sent a text telling me it was a messy one and he was going to be home late.

Not a problem and off I toddled to bed.  At 5:45 I woke and the bed was empty.  No texts/missed messages, a run through the house to establish noone conked out in another bedroom in the house and then the panic set in.

Late home means you eventually come home.  No answer on the mobile, straight to voicemail on both personal and work phones.

I was imagining ALL SORTs of stupid things and got myself into a bit of a stir.

Around 6:40 I get a text telling me he is almost home so I wait and when he comes through the door at 7am with not a scratch on him, smelling like a distillery and clearly still incredibly drunk I decided it was now ok to be absolutely LIVID!

Don't get me wrong - I actually don't mind the being out all night but tell me that "late home" means sometime in the morning of the next day (as in after sunrise!).  I had to get up at 8:30 as I had an early morning hair appointment so I am absolutely knackered.

Went out - got a hair cut, blowed dried curly, did a bit of shopping and then wandered home where I have had a productive day doing laundry and reading.  I am very tired though due to the stressful start to my day.

I did also leave Steve to lay in bed and sleep it all off today as it's not like I am not guilty of going out and being a tad irresponsible from time to time.  I think the terrifying part was not knowing where he was or that he was ok and that is why I felt angry (once I knew he was ok).  

As it was a couple of guys who missed his stag do decided he should have stag do take 2.  He had a good time and actually I am enjoying winding him up a little bit.

This evening I thought I deserved this wee treat of a cosmopolitan while we watched Paddington - it was ok, not as good as expected.

Oh My God!!!  2 weeks today!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.