Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Expensive stone.

I thought that it was decorative stone that was expensive, but, I think this little thing is going to prove equally as expensive one way or another.

On my way home I was quietly making my way up a bit of dual carriageway when this car went steaming past me. A fraction of a second later a massive explosive bang on the windscreen right in front of me and a flash as the stone bounced over the top of the car. A nice round crack about 60mm in diameter right at the edge of the screen at my eyeline.

The video shows the stone passing from the offside front wheel under the car hitting the nearside rear and then arching up into the air. 

Now, I know that I can get this replaced for the cost of the excess, but, the insurance company will simply load my policy cost in future and I have to declare the fact for five years - even though this is not my fault!

I was wondering if I can get the insurance to recover the cost from the other cars insurance by getting to point out to the other party that they risk prosecution (at least it shows I wasn't in any way to blame, not that that seem to matter to insurers nowadays), or, do I simply send the video to the police as a failing to stop. There's no way they they could, but, it will draw the attention to the speed of the driver - at least 90mph. 

I'm sure that had they been at or below the speed limit, the energy involved would have been at least 25% less and so I may not have suffered such great damage. I can't leave the screen as it is - it would fail its MOT as well as destroying the structural integrity of the whole screen. 

Yet again, I end up footing the costs of someone else's actions.
As it is a heated windscreen I bet the simple replacement cost is £500+.
If I claim I bet my insurance goes up by a similar amount in coming years. How come insurance always ends up with you being out of pocket even if you're completely blameless.

An annoying way to end the day.

Anyone with inside knowledge on the insurance sector - any advice on what I can do to reduce my exposure to costs would be gratefully received.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.