Polperro

We drove over the Tamar Bridge into Cornwall today - neither of us have ever been to Cornwall before, and I've always wanted to visit the little fishing village of Polperro.  It didn't disappoint, it's a very picturesque little place and fortunately for us, it wasn't very busy!  It was a lovely hot, sunny day, and I think everyone had probably gone to the beaches elsewhere.

We walked through the lovely little streets to the harbour, but the tide was out, so my pictures weren't as nice as they could have been, but we'll just have to go back some other time.  We bought a Cornish Pastie to share for lunch and went and sat on the little beach to eat it, and explored Willy's Cave - Willy Wilcox was a Smuggler who apparently went missing in the caves.  

Before we left, Alan wanted to have a Cream Tea, although he had coffee as he doesn't drink tea, and I had a glass of Prosecco, followed by a Cornish ice cream - well, when in Cornwall we couldn't not do ;-)

We were invited by Lydia (JazzyB) and her lovely family to join them for a BBQ, so we left Polperro at 3pm and drove to Lydia's - it was great to meet her, Mr JB and Monkey.  Mr JB is a dab hand on the BBQ  and we had a fantastic meal!  

We head home tomorrow, and plan to stop off at Durdle Door on our way back, although, we won't get to see it at it's best as there's a lot of rain forecast.  I've got the waterproof camera with me though, so I'll be ok to get some photos.

I've put some photos from today in my extras, including one of us at JazzyB's and their lovely dog Scooby, and I've now managed to upload some from yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.