Falkirk Visit

A second attempt to visit Stirling Castle failed today, even though we got there a couple of hours earlier.  All the car parks were full again, so it would have been far too crowded inside anyway!

Instead, we headed for Falkirk and its two main attractions - The Kelpies and the Falkirk Wheel.  Combining my friend's love of boats and horses, a trip on the canal boat seemed like a winner and indeed it was.  You actually get a chance to see the horses from a different angle and to sail between them.  The best £3 each we've spent in ages:-)  We are in lots of other people's photos and videos and I'm sure they thought we must be someone famous as we had the boat entirely to ourselves!

In spite of the diabolical signposting, I managed to find my way to the Falkirk Wheel and we all enjoyed watching the boats go up and down in the cradles before the heavy rain set in.  Then it was back on the road and heading for home - or not, as the case may be!  I know blipfriend Freuchie will smile at this, but I managed to lose the road to Perth again and ended up doing a very long detour through Fife before finding the right way:-)

One day, I'll get it right!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.