Retina

By Bubstersdaddy

365 and counting.

Aside from being my daughter's birthday, it's a year to the day that I had my last knee breakdown, at the Baddinsgill Round Hill Race. About half way round I tore my knee and ran not another step in anger for another 3 months. It was a dark time and I wasn't sure if I'd run competitively again https://bubstersdaddy.wordpress.com/2014/10/08/things-can-never-be-the-same-again/

As those that have the pleasure of seeing my posts on social media will know, however, it was the start of a new me. A change to minimalist running, plenty of bike work, spinning, managing my mileage, swimming, lots of multi-sport events and my beloved supplements (Glucosamine, Tart Cherry, Gotu Kola and Fo-Ti) have all seen me not only recover from my knee issues, but arrest their deterioration and improve my overall performances. A series of PBs this year on races such as the Carnethy 5, Stuc, Maddy Moss, North Berwick Law and successful ascents of rough courses such as Ben Ledi and Goatfell to name a few have assured me that my knees can still take some punishment. And my switch to multi-sport events has seen me undertake an unprecedented number of events (30) this year so far. In fact, since the knee breakdown I have completed around 50 events if you include Cross Country, Cyclocross and my new love, triathlons.

When I trotted down the Cauldstane Slap after 6 miles last year, it was as miserable as I've felt in an athletic context. What a difference a year makes. Long may it continue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.