Dreams

The clouds passed over the heath quickly today, blown northward by the stiff wind; the rain however persisted for most of the day.  The heather is in full bloom. I like the bell heather the best as it is particularly bright and cheerful; it reminds me of days out on the Suffolk heaths as a child and of holidays in Dorset, days where we laid in the sun listening to the gorse pods popping open and taking in the sweet smell of the heather and grass. The days seemed endless then, filled with picnics and walks and laughter.  I will hold them, and the family I shared them with, close to my heart forever.  Here you can see how the birch, rowan, Scots pine and oak trees would gradually recolonise the heath if they were left to their own devices.  Instead cattle graze here and there is an active programme of management to maintain the heather heathland habitat.  Stone chats call; along with many other small birds.  There must be snakes and other reptiles here but I haven't see any yet.  Being just a short walk from home, this is a wonderful place to retreat for peace and quiet and nature watching.  I feel priviledged to have it on my doorstep; I never dreamed I would be able to live anywhere like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.