AMERICAN IMAGES by Lucy Skaer.

These three large stones are set along the path in Chapel Court, Jesus College, Cambridge.
Lucy Skaer who sculpted them was born in Cambridge, 1975, and studied at the Glasgow School of Art. She says, " None of the ways I represent things are straightforward," For American Images, she disinters an entirely lost process as embodied in the  three limestone boulders,which she took from quarries outside a small Iowa Ghost Town, once known as 'Lithograph City.' The town was created in the early 1900's as a residence for quarry workers excavating the fine grained limestone, widely used in lithography at that time, but soon replaced with metal plates. When I first encountered them, I didn't realise the stones were part of the summer art exhibition which will eventually be dismantled. I have already put some exhibits in my journal, one of which you can see at the back of the lawn. Because I've been going to the Technology Museum for inspiration, I'm a bit behind with photographing the art here,  as it has rained lately.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.