2nd Sat Strollers

By AndrewDBurns

if I love you this is incidental

Can't deny that I'm feeling just a little bereft today :-(

But - thankfully; it's Alice Oswald's birthday, and thus here is today's entry from the pictured 2003 collection ...

... frankly - I'd be lost, in so many ways, without the presence in this world of such beautiful poetry:
 

Sea Sonnet

A field, a sea-flower, three stones, a stile.
Not one thing close to another
throughout air. The cliff’s uplifted lawns.
You and I walk light as wicker in virtual contact.
 
Prepositions lie exposed. All along
the swimmer is deeper than the water.
I have looked under the wave,
I saw your body floating on the darkness.
 
But time and water cannot touch.
Not once. Only a blob far out,
your singularity and the sea’s
inalienable currents flow at angles …
 
and if I love you this is incidental
as on the sand one blue towel, one white towel.

---

Alice Oswald (1966 - )

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.