A Day Out

SWMBO said we should go out today since it was a holiday, we had no kids to look after and the weather was good.

She gave me free reign as to where to go and said I could use the time to take pictures.
She can't be feeling well.
Or maybe it was my rant at the kids the other day that I was nothing but a servant and taxi driver with no life of my own - but anyway ............

Off we headed to Longniddry Bents (I think) where I started with the sea shore and sky.
We then moved round the corner where we went for a wander in Gosford House policies (where she had never been before). The ponds have been given a clean out which has resulted in them having a lovely green scum on them. The boathouse looks like it is in a huge bowl of pea soup.
Lunch was had in the café and diner was bought from the farm shop (all very tasty I can tell you).

After that it was a drive down through North Berwick and up towards Tantallon Castle and the Bass Rock with a stop in WhiteKirk where I wandered round and into the church and where I spotted a rather nice house for sale (anyone get a spare £600,000 going spare?). I also took shots of the hay bales and the rather quirky clocks on somebody's fence.

It was then on to Preston Mill for a short stop and some ice-cream before heading for home.

My attempt at making a prototype whistling spinning top ended in disaster this evening when I had it 2/3rd made with a wall thickness of about 2mm .... and it threw itself off the lathe.
Ahh well ..... better luck next time.

A sozen or so of the pictures I took can be seen here - if you are remotely interested

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.