Mostly looking North

By Mostlynorth

Fireworks

Good day at work then off to play Roger in our tie, in the other semi-final.

Possibly the best game of croquet I've played, if you ignore the first hour. Roger had 8 bisques. After five, he was leading 15-0, with balls at 2-back and 3-back. I managed to get my first ball around without breaking down, leaving it at rover. Roger used his last three bisques to get to peg and rover, just short of winning. I hit in, and took my second ball all the way round from 2 to peg, narrowly missing a posthumous peel on partner that would have put me ahead by 1. But in the growing gloom, Roger missed a long hit in, leaving me to run rover with by first ball and peg out.  

Cycle home to get there in time for the fireworks. Just me and Lesley this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.