Muddled ......

..... is the word I have heard most often this weekend just gone.

It has been a day of carers, nurses, sight and sound helpers, washing machines, angst, and lots of mixed up emotions.

In the middle of it all I went to Christchurch to get some keys cut, do some financial things, and buy some provisions for J's Mum and for us. I took my camera on the off chance, and as it was near walked to the Priory and took a few quick pics.

I love the Priory - it's a wonderful building -  and the graveyard which surrounds it. Most of the headstones are covered to a greater or lesser degree with lichens, making the carefully carved texts illegible in large part. They are all of a muddle. 

Who was Mary ? Was she a happy woman ? Did her family love her ? And are the lichens which now crowd around her name specific to this kind of stone ? I have no idea, but I hope the answer to the second and third questions is yes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.