Nora Berghoff

By nberghoff

Handicap!!!

Oh dear, where should I start?

This is Loulou in my office, trying to "flick off" her bandage....

She is wearing that trendy pink bandage because she cut one of her toes on something.

It started Thursday evening, when I noticed that she was bleeding from one of her toes. Anyone who knows Loulou also knows that it is virtually impossible to examine this cat's toes by yourself. I could tell she had a cut, but she would not let me do much more with it.
It stopped bleeding after a little while, and I figured it would be okay and I'd re-evaluate in the morning.

Oh my. The next morning, I woke up to an apartment covered in bloody paw prints. I have "bloodprints" on my bedspread, my sofa, all the floors, basically every surface a cat can possibly touch. Even the laundry basket....It was terrible.

So I packed up the cat, and took her to work with me (which is the vet school, conveniently). I am a vet myself, but this cat is a 4-person-job, so there is no way I can manage her by myself without heavy sedation.

With the help of 2 other brave Dr's and 1 technician, we were able to wrap Loulou's foot and contain the bloodprinting.

Loulou felt instantly disabled by the bandage, but was a good girl and did not try to take it off.

I finally removed it this morning (Saturday), which took about half an hour, lots of screaming, hissing, scratching and biting, and I really hope that it won't start bleeding all over....

Now I will attempt to steam-clean the carpet, while doing lots of laundry.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.